All the dumb things

A cautionary tale in development

Big skies in Queensland 1990

Posted by razzbuffnik on April 22, 2007

Here’s some colour and natural beauty to compensate for my last couple of posts.

jondaryan_bunya1.jpg

jondaryan_bunya21.jpg

These shots were taken on the road between Jondaryon and Bunya Mountain in Queenland, Australia, with an 18mm lens on Kodak EC100.

On a bit of a sad note, all the transparencies I had in the folder with this series, are blighted with tiny spots of fungus. It’s not apparent in the images here because the resolution isn’t high enough, but I won’t be able to make any large prints out of them.

I know the are a lot photographers out there who are convinced that digital photography will never replace chemical based photography, as for me, I’m a total digital convert. When I look through all my old images, I’m devestated by how many of them have fungus on them. I know I should’ve stored the better, but living in hot and humid Queensland for five years made that next to impossible unless I wanted to totally seal them and never look at them. Lets face it, gelatine is just sooo medieval. Film emulsion is the next best thing to a petri dish filled with agar agar, basically, it’s a banguet for fungus.

Digital photograhy is getting better every day. Even my little compact Canon A95 is giving me better than exceptable results. I look forward to the day in the not so distant future when digital cameras produce the same, if not, then improved, resolution and contrast range.

Leave a Reply

 
