All the dumb things

A cautionary tale in development

The butcher of Casablanca

Posted by razzbuffnik on May 5, 2007

For some strange reason, I never went shopping for meat to cook myself when I was in Morocco.  I always felt more comfortable eating my meat over there as anomolous charred lumps on sticks from stall holders.

casbutcher.jpg

As a matter of fact, if I had to buy meat like this every day, I’d probably be a vegetarian.  It’s a bit too “real” as one can still see how the meat was once an animal, not like the way the meat is packaged in plastic like here in the west. On reflection I find it amazing how quickly things have changed in the western world.  A scene like the image above would’ve been common in 19th century Europe. No refrigeration, no plastic bags, just a cloth sack you brought your self.  At least you’d know that the meat was fresh.

This photo was taken in 1982 on Kodachrome 64.

Leave a Reply

 
