All the dumb things

A cautionary tale in development

Joseph Cindric the Sydney “Trolleyman”. Sydney Austalia 1973

Posted by razzbuffnik on May 10, 2007

Joseph Cindric (1906-1994) pushed his trolley around Hyde Park in Sydney for over twenty years. Rumor had it that Joseph not only carried all his worldly goods in his trolley but also letters from his long lost son.

I was looking through my old negatives when I can across this image. His humble smile started me thinking about what kind of person was he. So I thought I’d look for more information about him on the net and I noticed that there weren’t any images of him in cyberspace or that much information for that matter. So I thought that I should put his picture up so the world can put a face to one of Sydney’s better-known characters from the end of the last century.

joseph_cindric.jpg

I’ve been noticing lately that the Internet is full of articles about the very famous from the last one and a half decades. The occasional scholarly historical article, usually dealing with very famous dead people, can also be found. What the Internet seems to lack is articles about local histories. I’m convinced that in our headlong rush into the future many interesting people and events are being left undocumented and our daily lives are being made all the poorer for it.

Leave a Reply

 
